Ok.

Everybody has things that they know but which they don’t always believe – for example:

“I am normal.” (Shut up, Ally – I am!)

That’s something I think most people forget occasionally – either because they start to worry that the way they feel or behave about a specific issue is unique to them and that everyone else would cope with it so much ‘better’ or more ‘normally’, whatever that means.

I have… ALOT… of things which I forget to believe and I thought it might be a good idea for me to write a note to myself to remind me for the next time I forget these things.

And then publish it on the interweb, for all the world to see. (Well, Paul’s not writing anything – someone’s got to!)

About Training and Fighting:

  1. I am ALWAYS shitting myself about my fights. This is normal. I am no more nervous than usual, and being nervous before fighting a total stranger in front of hundreds of people is actually a pretty rational response. It’ll be fine.
  2. I ALWAYS struggle to lose the first kilo when I’m cutting weight. This is normal. My body is going “What the fuck are you doing?! You want me to do 4 hours of exercise a day, 8 hours of work, and you’re going to feed me…. salad and chicken? Fuck off.” And then it all starts moving. It’ll be fine.
  3. When I’m struggling to kick-start weight cutting, training in a sweat-suit really helps. I know it’s just fluid, but even after I’m re-hydrated, I’m still a kilo lighter, so I should do that every time. That way, it’ll be fine.
  4. I’m doing fine.

About me in general.

  1. I am not hideous. The lack of people pointing/running away/screaming/vomiting when they see me is, if not proof, strong indication of this. Ditto with weight – I’m pretty normal.
  2. In the words of Tony The Tiger Therapist: “I’m alright.” I’m not a horrible, selfish person – I’m alright. Some people actually really like me, even, and seek my company. That’s got to be good. After all, nobody’s perfect.

About Life

  1. Life isn’t fair – there’s no such thing as a Justice Particle, or a Fairness Atom: it’s random, chaotic, and sometimes shit happens. It’s nothing personal, I’ve just got to ride it out and wait for some random, chaotic luck to come my way.
  2. Some things are outwith my control. Tough shit. Deal. It’ll be fine.

I’m sure there are about a million other things I should remind myself of, but in general I think these are the main things that I and most other people (women?) struggle with.

What about you silent bunch of lurking lurkers?

Any things you think you should remind yourself of?

